Business Law Section Forsyth Pose Scholarship

Scholarship entries close at 5pm, 30 August 2018 AEST.

About

The Forsyth/Pose Scholarship is offered by the Business Law Section of the Law Council of Australia (BLS) for papers on a topic in the field of taxation law. It was offered for the first time in 2013 to commemorate leading taxation law practitioners Neil Forsyth QC and Kevin Pose. Both were long-standing members of the BLS specialist Taxation Committee.

Neil Forsyth QC was one of Australia's foremost tax advisers from the 1980s until his untimely death in 1997. He was immensely learned, personally charming and incredibly generous to his colleagues. He was graced with a powerful intellect, strong work ethic, commitment to justice and a profound knowledge of all aspects of taxation and commercial law. Neil had an incisive sense of humour and not surprisingly he was one of the Bar's most esteemed and liked members. He was a founding member of the BLS Taxation Committee.

Kevin Pose was a well established tax academic at University of Melbourne before reading with Neil Forsyth at the Bar. Kevin left the Bar to establish the tax team at Arthur Robinson and Hedderwicks (now Allens) and became one of Australia's foremost tax practitioners and scholars. Kevin was one of the subscribers in support of the memorandum advocating the creation of the BLS and one of the founding members of the BLS Taxation Committee. He was gentle, honest, unassuming and diplomatic. The tax community suffered a sad loss with his untimely death in 2010.

This scholarship recognises that Neil and Kevin played a central role in developing and mentoring the careers of many young lawyers and were always concerned to ensure that they gave younger lawyers the opportunity to demonstrate and develop their talents.

How to Apply

Applications must be submitted on an official application form obtained <u>online</u>. Please submit applications to BLS Administrator, Jane Bacot-Kilpatrick, via email: <u>Jane.Bacot-Kilpatrick@lawcouncil.asn.au</u> or phone:(02) 6246 3737.



Conditions of Entry

- 1. The Forsyth/Pose Scholarship is aimed at persons at a junior stage of their career in Australia, whether it be as a practising lawyer, academic or member of the public service or corporate sector. Applicants should have no more than four years' experience in the field of taxation law.
- 2. All decisions concerning eligibility will be made by the BLS Executive in its discretion.
- **3.** The scholarship will be awarded to the writer of a publishable quality paper that in the view of the judging panel best meets the judging criteria. If entries are not judged to be of a publishable standard, the judging panel may decide not to award a scholarship.
- **4.** Provided 3 above is satisfied, one scholarship will be offered each year to the value of \$5,000.
- 5. To apply for the scholarship applicants will need to submit an unpublished paper on a topic of relevance to taxation law practitioners of no more than 10,000 words, (including footnotes, appendices and tables), by the time specified by the BLS Executive.
- **6.** Papers submitted as part of the scholarship application will be judged by a panel which will be appointed by the BLS Executive drawn from the Judiciary, the BLS Taxation Committee, Academia, and the Australian Taxation Office.
- 7. As a condition of accepting the scholarship, the author of the paper should be prepared to deliver the paper at a conference, workshop or seminar run by the BLS. Any invitation to the author to deliver the winning paper will be at the discretion of the BLS Executive.
- **8.** The application form includes the criteria to be applied in assessing the paper, which in summary are: significance of contribution to debate and analysis 50%, design and execution 20%, quality of argument 20% and presentation 10%.
- **9.** It is a condition of the Forsyth/Pose Scholarship that the recipient will acknowledge the award of the Scholarship in any publication or presentation of the paper.
- 10. Applications and papers must be received by 5pm, 30 August 2018 AEST. It is expected that that the panel will make its award by 30 September 2018.

