Past President - Paul Anastassiou QC

Opening of the Legal Year 2016

[29 Jan 2016]

Monday 1 February 2016 in Melbourne
Multi-Faith Opening of the Legal Year
Those who have responded for the Multi-Faith Opening at Government House should note:

  • Registration has now closed for this event. Only those on the RSVP list will be admitted to Government House.
  • Gates will open at 9.30 am.
  • You will need to show your entree card or photo ID to gain admission.
  • Car parking is available and you will be directed from the gate where to park.
  • You will be directed to the Ballroom entrance where you will be greeted and admitted.
  • For those taking part in the procession, a robing room will be available.

The event will be streamed live on the Government House website.

Red Mass - St Patrick’s Cathedral at 9 am followed by morning tea with His Grace Archbishop Hart.

Eastern Orthodox Service - St Eustathios Greek Orthodox Church at 9 am.

International Commission of Jurists Community Opening - Waldron Hall in the County Court of Victoria at 9 am for 9:30am start with morning tea at 10:30 am.

International Commission of Jurists Community Opening - to be held at Waldron Hall in the County Court of Victoria at 9am for a 9:30am start and 10:30am morning tea.

Wednesday 3 February 2016 in Melbourne
Victoria Law Foundation Legal Laneway Breakfast to be held in Hardware Lane at 8 am.

RSVP is essential for most services. Click here for full details and to register.

Choral Evensong on the Eve of the Opening of the Legal Year

[29 Jan 2016]

The Dean and Chapter of St Paul’s Cathedral invite Members of the Legal Profession to a festive service of Choral Evensong on the Eve of the Opening of the Legal Year 2016, on Sunday 31 January 2016 at 6pm, at which the Venerable Ian Morrison LL B, Archdeacon of Box Hill, will be preaching.

Judges and Barristers are invited to robe in the Barbara Darling Room of the Cathedral from 5.10pm, and should be ready to process by 5.50pm.

Solicitors and also Magistrates and Tribunal Members, who do not robe, but who would like to process, are asked also to go to the Barbara Darling Room by 5:45 pm.

There will be someone in the Cathedral to direct you to the Barbara Darling Room. Click here.

Silk appointments

[27 Nov 2015]

The latest Silk appointments were announced on Tuesday 24 November by the Honourable Chief Justice Marilyn Warren AC. The appointment as Senior Counsel is recognition for barristers who have distinguished themselves as excellent and experienced advocates. We welcome Victoria’s newest silks to this proud tradition and thank the Chief Justice for her very significant role and leadership in this process and for her continuing commitment to the appointment of silks in this State. My congratulations to those appointed.

Jonathan Peter Brett
Thomas Patrick Keely
Peter Gordon Willis
Áine Meadhbh Magee
Michael Thomas Flynn
Michael Hargreaves Whitten
Paul Michael O'Grady
Christopher Brian O'Grady
Jonathan Braham Davis
Anthony Paul Young
Christopher James Horan
Dermot Arthur Dann
Andrew Ian Strum
Christopher James Winneke
Edward James Cadden Heerey
Gerard Daniel Dalton
Michelle Britbart
Andrew James McClelland
Daniel David Gurvich

News from the President

[13 Nov 2015]

On behalf of the Bar Council and members of the Bar I wish to thank Jim Peters QC for an outstanding 12 months as outgoing President of our Bar. Jim has kept Bar Council's focus on the core objective of increasing work for our members. I intend to continue that work.

I am honoured by the confidence that the Bar Council has shown in electing me as President for 2015/16 and I shall dedicate myself to earning that trust.

Congratulations to all members who have been elected to the new Bar Council. On behalf of the Bar I thank all those members of the Bar Council who served last year and who were not re-elected or who have retired.